AIA Unveils Honors List for 2022 QLD Regional Architecture Awards


The Australian Institute of Architects has unveiled the winners of the Queensland Regional Architecture Awards, recognizing the efforts of architects from seven regions.

New projects in the Brisbane, Central Queensland, Darling Downs and West Moreton, North Queensland, Far North Queensland, Sunshine Coast, Northern Rivers and Gold Coast regions were showcased, with the jury considering a number of educational, commercial, residential projects , heritage, interiors. and urban categories.

The Fender Katsalidis-designed Midtown Center (pictured above and top) has been awarded the 2022 Lord Mayor’s Brisbane Buildings that Breathe Architecture Prize. Brisbane South State Secondary College designed by BVN Architects has won awards in several areas, receiving accolades in the Education Architecture, Sustainable Architecture, Urban Design and Interior Architecture categories.

Muttaburrasaurus Interpretive Center

In central Queensland, the Muttaburrasaurus Interpretive Center (pictured above) designed by architect Brian Hooper has been named the JW Wilson Award for Building of the Year Central Queensland. The building is an open-air museum that showcases the story of one of the most important fossilized dinosaur skeletons found in Australia. The People’s Choice Award for Central Queensland has been awarded to Kingsley College Tree House by DESIGN AND ARCHITECTURE.

Queensland Fire and Emergency Services South West Regional Headquarters

Darling Downs and West Moreton saw local firm Toowoomba Sims White Architects receive the William Hodgen Building of the Year Award and Regional Project of the Year Award for the South West Regional Fire and Rescue Services Headquarters. Queensland emergency (pictured above). The building brings together three different government agencies (SES, RFS and QFRS) dedicated to emergency disaster relief. The University of Queensland Gatton Campus Heart & Entry by Lat27 and the Paroo Civic and Community Enterprise Center by Elia Architecture were among the accolades.

Proserpine Administration and Local Disaster Coordination Center

The Proserpine Administration and Conrad Gargett’s Local Disaster Coordination Center (pictured above) received the Walter and Oliver Tunbridge Award for Building of the Year in North Queensland. Conrad Gargett’s design response includes day-to-day council administration offices, an emergency disaster relief center and a climate change innovation center. Counterpoint Architecture’s Oasis Townsville with Phorm architecture + design received the North Queensland Regional Project of the Year award, while Fulton Trotter Architects’ Calvary Christian College Hospitality & Super Staff + Science & External Works awarded the People’s Choice Award.

Gurriny Yealamucka Health and Wellness Center

Further north, POD’s Gurriny Yealamucka Health and Wellness Center with Coburn Architecture (pictured above) won the Far North Queensland Regional Project of the Year award and the City’s Choice Award audience. The Eddie Oribin Building of the Year Award went to the Western Cape Communities Trust administration center of Clarke and Prince Pty Ltd.

Ridgewood House

Ridgewood House by Robinson Architects (pictured above) received the Gabriel Poole Award for Building of the Year at the 2022 Australian Institute of Architects’ Regional Architecture Awards for the Sunshine Coast. The impressive residence consists of two linked parallel wings nestled in a lush rainforest environment.

Anne Street Garden Villas

There was a stack of commendations in the Northern Rivers and Gold Coast region, including Anne Street Garden Villas by Anna O’Gorman Architect (pictured above), Nielsen Jenkins’ Currumbin Waters House, Aphora Architecture’s Banksia House, HOTA Gallery by ARM Architecture, Ed Hardy Park Amenities by ME, Watersedge by Jamison Architects, Norfolk, Burleigh Heads by Koichi Takada Architects, Marlin Villas by Shane Denman Architects and St Thomas Aquinas Center by Deicke Richards. Bela de Rothelowman received the region’s People’s Choice Award.

Visit for the full list of winners and commendations.


Comments are closed.