The Garden District Holiday Tour of Homes of Alexandria is back this year. The tour runs Saturdays from 4 p.m. to 7 p.m. and begins at First United Methodist Church, 2727 Jackson St.
The houses featured are in the Garden District National Register District and the Historic District of Alexandria Post-War Suburbs National Register.
In each house, the owners will be on hand to give visitors more information about the house.
Tickets cost $ 25 and can be purchased online or before the event at Southern Chic, 3200 Jackson St. Tickets and maps will be available on the day of the tour. For more information or tickets, visit eventbrite.com.
The Alexandria / Pineville Convention and Tourism Bureau lists information about homes on their website www.alexandriapinevillela.com:
1734 Albert Street
Built in 1927, this Christian Science denomination shrine has hosted worshipers for prayer and healing for over 90 years. The building once housed a reading room, and many Christian Scientist speakers from across the country have spoken here. The stucco exterior walls, the six decorative kneepads on the front gable facade and the rafter tail supports along its two side roof lines define the characteristics of a rather unique bungalow architectural style. This neighborhood church is in the National Historical Register Garden District and was recently purchased by Catherine Davidson and Sara Hopper.
The Kellam-Redmond-Hughes House
1924 Blanche Street
Built in 1922, this nearly 100-year-old artisan-style chalet has seen only three family owners. Clarence W. Kellam, opened the city’s first Ford dealership (1917), the Redmonds owned the residence until the 21st century, and now J. Ross Hughes has restored the unique living spaces. On the outside, this 1920s home features French doors and five decorative columns along the front porch and the porte cochere side carport. The interior has its original parquet floors, original windows and other period architectural features. The residence is located in a beautiful corner in the heart of the gardens district of the Alexandria National Register.
2101 Elliott Street
This house on a beautiful tree-lined avenue is a simple, wood-frame cottage built in the mid-1930s. Important architectural features include a front porch with integrated screen under a steep side gable roof and an imposing decorative stone fireplace. brick. The house sits on a double plot and the property includes a two story garage with balcony, a two car garage and storage rooms. The first residents included the Adams and Farrington families. In 2010, the current owners, Adam and Megan Lord, moved from New Orleans and knew this was the perfect home for them. They have spent the past 11 years restoring its original character and charm, adding some personal touches and raising their boys in this spacious and well-built home.
The small residence Michael
903 rue Pierson
This late 20th century house is a Mediterranean-style oasis in the middle of town. Although she is almost 30 years old, the residence is the most recent on the tour. The floor plan consists of large rooms and several living spaces designed to receive or organize large parties. A circular aisle allows customers to arrive. Beautiful tall pines and holm oaks adorn the property. The builder placed a newer house on a cobblestone street for the first time in 1941 and located in the First Section of the Historic District of the National Register of Postwar Alexandria Suburbs.
The Kahn-Davis House
3132, rue Marye
Built in 1947, this unique brick house has a comfortable design and is part of the city’s post-WWII expansion. All of the streets leading to McArthur Drive, a bypass of the city built in 1942, expanded in the years that followed. During the 1950s and 1960s the Kahn family lived here and Arthur Kahn owned Koblen’s jewelry store in the city center. Now the home of Mike and Carolyn Davis, the home features formal and informal living spaces and lovely views of old holm oaks, magnolias, and lush landscaping outside.