Ephraim McDowell Health awards scholarships to 13 area students – Reuters



Ephraim McDowell Health announces that it has awarded scholarships to 13 area students who are pursuing careers in health care. The health system awards a $1,000 renewable scholarship to high school students or a $2,000 renewable scholarship to students in Boyle and surrounding counties. In addition, the Ephraim McDowell Regional Medical Center (EMRMC) Auxiliary and the Ephraim McDowell Fort Logan Hospital Auxiliary are providing $1,000 health care scholarships to high school seniors in Boyle and of Lincoln and offer $500 scholarships to people who have participated in the Teen Volunteer Program. Ephraim McDowell Auxiliary James B. Haggin (EMJBH) is also awarding a $500 scholarship to a Mercer County high school student pursuing a career in health care. Another scholarship this year is the Keith & Vicki A. Darnell Scholarship, which provides $500 to a high school student pursuing a career in healthcare.

The Ephraim McDowell Health Care Fellowships are as follows:

• Kaylee Cloud, a 2018 graduate of Boyle County High School, is currently in the occupational therapy graduate program at Eastern Kentucky University.

• Logan Smothers of Boyle County plans to continue his studies in physical therapy starting this fall at Eastern Kentucky University. He is a recent graduate of Danville High School. Logan also received the $1,000 EMRMC Auxiliary Health Care Scholarship.

• Carson Jenkins of Lincoln County plans to attend Center College this fall to graduate and prepare for a career as a pharmacist.

• Natalie Baker, a 2021 graduate of Washington County High School, is currently attending Midway University with the goal of earning a nursing degree as a registered nurse.

• Jaicy Todd of Mercer County will be attending Eastern Kentucky University this fall to earn her nursing degree as a registered nurse.

• Kelsey Perkins, a 2019 graduate of Garrard County High School, is currently in the University of Campbellsville nursing program pursuing her bachelor’s degree.

• Collin Wesley of Casey County plans to attend Campbellsville University in the fall to begin classes for a pharmacy degree.

• Emma Jackson of Boyle County received a $1000 EMRMC Attendant Health Care Bursary. She will be attending the University of Louisville this fall to pursue her degree in biomedical engineering.

• Abbie Cook of Lincoln County received a $1,000 grant from the EMFLH for attendant health care. This fall, she will begin classes at Midway University to continue her nursing studies as a registered nurse.

• Emma Lane of Lincoln County received the $500 EMFLH Teen Auxiliary Scholarship for her involvement as a teen volunteer at Fort Logan Hospital. Emma plans to attend the University of Eastern Kentucky this fall to pursue a nursing degree.

• Madalyn Lehane-Moffett, a recent graduate of Mercer County High School, received a $500 EMJBH Attendant Health Care Scholarship. She plans to continue her nursing education at Eastern Kentucky University this fall.

• Rebecca Biggs, a recent graduate of Burgin Independent School, received a $500 EMJBH Auxiliary Health Care scholarship. This fall, she plans to attend Western Kentucky University to earn a degree in physical therapy.

• Trinity Acosta of Garrard County received the $500 Keith & Vicki A. Darnell Scholarship. She plans to earn her bachelor’s degree in nursing from the University of Kentucky starting this fall.


Comments are closed.