Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame inductees named – Reuters


STANFORD — A player and coach from local schools were inducted into the 12th Region Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame on Friday.

Wendie Austin-Robinson of Burgin and Ken Hurt of Garrard County were part of a five-person class and team recognized at the Lincoln County 12th Area Women’s Tournament.

Austin-Robinson scored 2,298 points and grabbed 1,243 rebounds for Burgin from 1986-1990. She shot 53% from the field and 75% from the free throw line with the Lady Bulldogs.

She then went on to play for Center College, where she was named an All-American in 1994 and twice named Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Player of the Year. A starter for four years on teams that won four straight conference championships, she ranked third in school history in points and first in rebounds at the end of her career at the Center.

Austin-Robinson has served as the Center’s head coach since 2005 and has been named Conference Coach of the Year three times.

Hurt led Garrard’s women’s program for 25 years from 1978 to 2003, guiding the Lady Lions to their only 12th Region championship in 1994 and to regional runners-up in 1984 and 1993.

His teams have won 12 district championships and made 23 regional appearances, and they have won two 12th All Classic “A” region championships. He finished his career with a record of 443-274.

Hurt was elected to the Garrard County School Board in 2020.

Austin-Robinson and Hurt were joined in the Hall of Fame class by former Pulaski County players Tarah Combs-Muntz and Southwest contributor Adison Corder

Gilbert Wilson of Eubank and Pulaski and the 1995 state runner-up Pulaski team.


Comments are closed.